facebook twitter bandcamp soundcloud reverbnation YouTube

La Vie En Orange

Bio

Heartfelt, authentic songs in three languages. Stories taken from real life with a touch of romance. Quiet sounds that make waves. Melodies that touch your heart. These are the keys to Annika Jayne's music.

First inspired by American folk music, and later on also by French and German songs, it seemed only natural for Annika to express her emotions in these three languages. Even if all the three languages have their reserved space in the songwriting of the artist, it is especially the French chanson that are closest to her heart. In august 2016, Annika participated at the Labos Chanson at Astaffort, a songwriting workshop organized by Voix Du Sud, the famous songwriting school of Francis Cabrel. There she had the chance to work on French chansons together with with Olivier Daguerre, Bastien Lanza and Davy Kilembe.

Regarding first experience on stage, she started performing during her time at university, taking the chance to play at Open Mic Nights and festivals. For instance, in 2007, she performed during the festival Heidelberger Herbst and also played twice at the French Week in Heidelberg. In between she played smaller gigs including two concerts in Paris. In the spring of 2014, after a baby break, she performed at the renowned Song & Talk at the Kaiserhof Hotel in Saarbrücken, a place introducing new singer-songwriters. Annika is performing in the Rhein-Neckar-Region on a regular basis since.

In 2009 Annika recorded her first album Fabulous Sceneries on which she introduces 12 songs in English and French which she wrote over the years. The album was recorded and produced by Amin Jan Sayed at syemusic studio in Viernheim. A special focus lies on the simple arrangements of the songs, concentrating on Annika's fine voice accompanied by acoustic guitar, e-bass, slide-guitar, cello, glockenspiel and accordion. In her songs she creates a warm sound, that with its mix of folk, chanson and chamber folk could be described as orange. Fabulous Sceneries is Annika's treasure-box as well as her journey through time and different places. The lyrics are poetic and natural, partly colourful, partly observing, partly melancholic, telling stories inspired by Annika's personal experiences as well as movies, books and other musicians. The listeners are taken on a journey through fabulous sceneries. During their journey they will find sunflower fields, stardust, dreams, love waltzes, rain words, deserted beaches in autumn as well as gentle moments of love.

facebook twitter bandcamp soundcloud reverbnation YouTube

La Vie En Orange

Bio

Innige, authentische Songs, die von Herzen kommen und das in drei Sprachen. Aus dem Leben gegriffene Geschichten mit einem Hauch von Romantik. Leise Töne, die Wellen schlagen. Melodien, die berühren. Das ist das, was Annika Jayne's Musik ausmacht.

Anfänglich vom amerikanischen Folk inspiriert, prägten sie auch Lieder und Chansons deutscher und französischer Musiker. Es schien Annika daher nur natürlich, ihre Gefühle auch in diesen drei Sprachen zum Ausdruck zu bringen. Wenn auch alle drei Sprachen ihren festen Platz im Schaffen der Künstlerin haben, so ist es doch das französische Chanson, zu dem Annika eine besondere Affinität hat. So nahm sie im August 2016 an den Labos Chansons in Astaffort bei Voix Du Sud teil, der berühmten Chansonschule von Francis Cabrel. Während des Workshops arbeitete sie mit Olivier Daguerre, Bastien Lanza und Davy Kilembe zusammen an Chansons in französischer Sprache.

Erste Bühnenerfahrung sammelte sie im Studium bei Open Stages und Festivals. So trat sie beispielsweise 2007 im Rahmen des Heidelberger Herbstes auf und war zweimal mit einem Konzert während der Französischen Woche in Heidelberg zu sehen. Zwischendurch spielte sie immer wieder kleinere Gigs, darunter zweimal in Paris. Nach einer Baby-Pause spielte sie im Frühjahr 2014 beim renommierten Songwriter-Treff Song & Talk im Kaiserhof in Saarbrücken und tritt seitdem wieder regelmäßig im Rhein-Neckar-Raum auf.

2009 nahm sie ihr erstes Album Fabulous Sceneries auf, auf dem sie 12 Lieder auf Englisch und Französisch vorstellt, die sie im Laufe der Jahre geschrieben hat. Aufgenommen und produziert wurde es von Amin Jan Sayed im syemusic Tonstudio in Viernheim, wobei der besondere Reiz der jeweiligen Arrangements in ihrer Schlichtheit liegt und sich ganz auf Annikas sanfte Stimme zu Akustik-Gitarre, E-Bass, Slide Guitar, Cello, Glockenspiel und Akkordeon konzentriert. In ihren Songs erzeugt sie einen warmen Klang, in dem sich Elemente aus Folk, Chanson und Chamber-Folk wiederfinden. Fabulous Sceneries ist Annikas Schatzkästchen sowie ihre Reise durch die Zeit und an verschiedene Orte. Die Texte, poetisch und natürlich, teils farbenreich, teils beobachtend, teils melancholisch, erzählen Geschichten, die von Annikas persönlichen Erfahrungen, durch Filme, Bücher oder durch andere Musiker inspiriert wurden. Die Hörer begeben sich auf eine Reise durch märchenhafte Landschaften. Dabei begegnen sie Sonnenblumenfeldern, Sternenstaub, Träumen, Liebeswalzern, Regenwörtern, verlassenen Herbst-Stränden sowie zarten Momenten der Liebe.